About the programme

The Interreg V-A Hungary-Croatia Co-operation Programme 2014-2020

The Interreg V-A Hungary-Croatia Co-operation Programme 2014-2020 belongs to the network of European Territorial Cooperation (ETC) programmes, again labelled as the INTERREG in the new financial perspective, which constitute an important part and the objective of the European Union Cohesion Policy. ETC programmes contribute to the overall economic, social and territorial cohesion of the European Union by tackling issues which cross the borders between countries and regions.

The aims of ETC programmes are – among others – the creation of common identity, integrated physical space, balanced development and improved policies and governance. To achieve these aims, cross-border cooperation (CBC) programmes identify shared challenges in the border regions, and measures to address them. The co-operation programme between Hungary and Croatia is the successor of the 2007 – 2013 Hungary – Croatia (IPA) CBC Programme.

Just like the previous programme in the year of the accession of Croatia to the European Union, this programme’s co-financing is covered by the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) for both countries. Thus, the principles and the best practices regulating the programming and the implementation of the instruments of the European Cohesion Policy are fully applicable.

Apart from some specific rules and procedures related to the former IPA, the majority of experiences of the 2007 – 2013 Programme are relevant to the current programme and, with respect to its objectives and content, it shows strong continuity with its predecessor.

Programme level bodies

In respect of the B Light Grant Scheme, the following bodies have responsibilities in the implementation:

  • Monitoring Committee

The Monitoring Committee (MC) is the main decision making body of the Interreg V-A Hungary-Croatia Cooperation Programme, composed of the representatives of the programme area counties and the responsible state bodies. The MC is responsible to approve the Scheme, as a special project and monitor its implementation, making decision on changes in line with the Subsidy Contract.
Working body of the MC is the Joint Secretariat (JS). The JS shall be supported by the Lead Beneficiary (HAMAG-BICRO), providing all necessary information on the proceedings of the B Light Grant Scheme.

  • The Managing Authority

The Managing Authority (MA) bears overall responsibility for the implementation of the Cooperation Programme, including the B Light Grant Scheme. The MA is the Hungarian Prime Minister’s Office, based in Budapest, Hungary. The MA acts as signatory of the Subsidy Contract of the Scheme, having responsibility and competences in monitoring it in line with the Subsidy Contract.

  • Certifying Authority

The Certifying Authority (CA) is responsible for certifying declarations of expenditure and applications for payment, including the Scheme as well.

  • Audit Authority

The Audit Authority (AA) is independent from the MA and the CA, responsible for verifying the effective functioning of the management and control system, including control of the Scheme and the Light Projects as well.

  • Joint Secretariat

The Joint Secretariat (JS) is the administrative body supporting the MA and the MC. The JS is set up at the Széchenyi Programme Office Nonprofit Llc., headquartered in Budapest, but having contact points in Čakovec, Osijek and Pécs.


The Scheme in terms of partnership matches general cross-border projects: having a Lead Beneficiary and several Beneficiaries.

  • Lead Beneficiary: Croatian Agency for SMEs, Innovations and Investments HAMAG-BICRO.

The Lead Beneficiary (LB) bears responsibility for overall coordination of the implementation of the Scheme, in line with the Subsidy Contract signed with the MA.

  • Beneficiaries: county level SME development agencies

The Beneficiaries are responsible for coordinating the project activities in their respective counties. The Beneficiaries’ main task is to promote and raise awareness about the Scheme among the SMEs in the border area and play an active role in project generation: organizing promotion events, B2B meetings and consultations in order to identify the potential Light Partners and Light Project initiatives.

The Beneficiaries participate in evaluation of both the Light Concepts (1st step) and Light Project Proposals (2nd step) and take part in the Selection Board.

Beneficiaries are:


Baranya county:

Baranya Megyei Fejlesztési Ügynökség Nonprofit Kft.
(Baranya County Development Agency Non-profit Ltd

Somogy County:

Somogy Megyei Vállalkozói Központ Közalapítvány
(Entrepreneurs’ Centre of Somogy County Public Foundation)

Zala County:

Zala Megyei Vállalkozásfejlesztési Alapítvány
(Zala County Foundation for Enterprise Promotion)


Osijek-Baranja and Vukovar-Srijem counties:

Regionalna razvojna agencija Slavonije i Baranje d.o.o.
(Regional Development Agency of Slavonia and Baranja Ltd.)

Virovitica-Podravina and Požega-Slavonia counties:

VIDRA Agencija za regionalni razvoj Virovitičko-podravske zupanije
(VIDRA Virovitica-Podravina County`s Development Regional Agency)

Koprivnica-Križevci and Bjelovar-Bilogora counties:

PORA Razvojna agencija Podravine i Prigorja za promicanje i provedbu razvojnih aktivnosti u Koprivničko-križevačkoj županiji
(PORA Regional development agency of Podravina and Prigorje for promotion and implementation of development activities in Koprivnica Križevci County)

Međimurje and Varaždin counties:

Regionalna razvojna agencija Međimurje
(Regional Development Agency Međimurje